Past Winners of the Saidi-Sirjani Book Award

The following is the list of previous recipients of the Saidi-Sirjani Book Award since its inception:


  • First Prize: Djalal Khaleghi Motlagh, Critical edition of Shahnameh, 1988-. 
  • Honorable Mentions:
    C. E. BosworthHistory of the Saffarids of Sistan and the Maliks of Nimruz, 1994. 
    Farhad DaftaryThe Assassin Legends: Myths of Isma’ilis, 1994.


  • First Prize:Badr-ol Zaman GharibFarhang-e Soghd-Farsi-Englisi [Sogdian Dictionary], 1995.
  • Honorable Mention: Ahmad Karimi-HakkakRecasting Persian Poetry: Scenarios of Poetic Modernity in Iran, 1995.


  • First Prize:Maria E. SubtelnyLe monde est un jardin: Aspects d l’histoire culturelle de l’Iran medieval, 2002.
  • Honorable Mentions:
    Kathryn BabayanMystics, Monarchs and Messiahs: Cultural Landscapes of Early Modern Iran, 2002.
    Franklin D. LewisRumi: Past and Present, East and West, 2000.


  • First Prize:Rudi MattheeThe Pursuit of Pleasure: Drugs and Stimulants in Iranian History, 1500-1900, 2005.
  • Honorable Mentions:
    David J. RoxburghThe Persian Album 1400-1600: From Dispersal to Collection, 2005.
    Étienne de la VaissièreHistoire des marchands sogdiens, 2nd ed., Bibliothèque de l’Institut des hautes études chinoises XXXII, 2004 (Transl. by James Ward, Sogdian Traders: A history, Handbuch der Orientalistik VIII:Central Asia, 10: Sogdian traders, Leiden and Boston, 2005)


  • First Prize: Nasrollah Pourjavady, Zaban-e hal: dar erfan adabiyat-e parsi (Tehran, 1385sh/2006)
  • Honorable Mention: Beatrice Forbes Manz, Politics and Religion in Timurid Iran. 2007
  • Honorable mention: Nicholas Sims-Williams, Bactrian Documents from Northern Afghanistan, Letter and Buddhist Texts. 2007


  • First Prize: Fakhreddin Azimi, The Quest for Democracy in Iran: A Century of Struggle against Authoritarian Rule (Cambridge: HarvardUniversity Press, 2008).
  • Honorable Mention: Michele Bernardini, Mémoire et propagande à l’époque timouride (Paris: Association pour l’avancement des études iranniennes, 2008).
  • Honorable mention: Yuka Kadoi, Islamic Chinoiserie: The Art of Mongol Iran. Edinburgh Studies in Islamic Art (Edinburgh: Edinburgh University Press, 2009).


  • Joint Recipient: Barbara Brend, Muhammad Juki's Shahnamah of Firdausi (Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland; London: Philip Wilson, 2010).
  • Joint Recipients: David Durand-Guedy , Iranian Elites and Turkish Rulers: A History of Isfahan in the Saljuq Period (Abingdon, UK and New York: Routledge, 2010).


  • The 2014 Saidi-Sirjani Book Award was awarded jointly to Justine Landau for her book, De rythme et de raison: Lecture croisée de deux traités de poétique persans du XIIIe siècle (Of Rhythm and Reason: A Comparative Reading of Two Thirteenth-Century Persian Treatises on Poetics) (published jointly by the Sorbonne Nouvelle and the French Institute for Iranian Studies, in 2013), and to Sarah Bowen Savant for her book, The New Muslims of Post-Conquest Iran: Tradition, Memory, and Conversion (published by Cambridge University Press, also in 2013).